PDA

View Full Version : Worried about Hairdressers Tomorrow [Hair Dye Reaction]

87sal87
10-01-11, 20:47
Hey guys,

I've FINALLY plucked up the courage to make an appointment for the hairdressers for tomorrow to get my hair dyed. I've been dying my hair blonde since 2004 [both at home & at the salon] & before my anxiety started it was never a problem, but now I'm always terrified of having a reaction. It's not been done since August, so has you can imagine, my roots are criminal. :/
My appearance is the one thing I take pride in & my hair especially so it's been making me feel down seeing my hair in abit of a state & it always makes me feel better once I've braved it.
But I'm really worried about tomorrow, feel sick, can't eat, palpitations & I feel like cancelling it in the morning even though I know that will make me feel worse.
They haven't done a patch test but they never do & I never do at home, I know that's bad but it takes me enough to do the actual dying without delaying it for 48 hours & the hairdresser just asked if I'd had any reaction before, which I haven't, only a bit of itching...nothing major...

Plus, I'm due on my period this week & I've heard that you can be more sensitive at this time & more prone to reactions, is that true?

You just see so many horror stories about it & it's put me off completely :(
What do you think I should do?

rosi
10-01-11, 21:12
Go. The 'lift' you'll get from looking great will do so much for your anxiety. I really wouldn't worry, reactions are so, so rare (the media just loves a good 'womans vanity leads to dire consequences' story, they always have. They'll publicise the rare cases it happens and ignore the millions of stories were nothing happened) and anyway hairdressers are trained to look out for the first signs and will know exactly what to do in the very, very, very rare case of anything happening.