Thread: So scared that blood is in my stool

So scared that blood is in my stool

Hi all

Newbie here. Have a history of health anxiety. I then ended up diagnosed with T1 diabetes a year ago which has only fuelled my anxiety about any minor little thing. I now almost AWLAYS make a GP appointment in fear of something else over things that never seem small at the time but always end up being irrelevant.

In any case, i do believe there might be something sinister going on with my bowels - bowel complaints have been an ongoing issue for me since childhood. I'm approaching 30 now.

I've always had either diarrhea or constipiation. In the mornings i tend to have a rush to go toilet and make a bowel movement (classic IBS apparently)

I've changed my diet to include more fibre and have been going daily but i can never tell whether i will have loose stools or not. It fluctuates. Certain foods tend to trigger me off - wheat, cereals and even milk. I've gone lacto-free to see if it helps with my gassy symptoms but i'm almost always afflicted with bloating and painful gas. Every time I finish a bowel movement, I never feel like i've completed going but nothing else will 'come out.' I'll also get clear mucus when i'm constipated.