Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How would you take this? good or bad?

How would you take this? good or bad?

Basically for those who dont know, i had terrible pains in my jaw i couldnt even touch it....so i put up with it for aslong as i could but eventually had to go to the doctors, i visited the doc who wasnt my regular doc and he told me he couldnt see anything wrong and it might just be something that flares up and then goes again.....a couple of days later the pain was getting worse so i made an out of hours appointment where the doc there told me i have an abscess, put me on antibiotics, the pain subsided and he told me to make an appointment with my dentist. So yesterday i went to the dentist who had a look and couldnt see a thing but did an xray just to be sure the xray showed nothing either. So is this good that they cant see anything or bad that they dont know what it is? Im feeling generally unwell to, sore throat, blocked nose and sneezing but this has only been the last few days.....your opinions are muchly appreciated! thank you guys! xx

The antibiotics finish today, and i think im just worried if the pain comes back over christmas it will ruin my whole holiday season, A) because of the pain and b) because noone seems to know what is causing it :( xx

Re: How would you take this? good or bad?

Where abouts in your jaw is the pain?? TMJ problems ( the joint in front of your ear) can cause alot of pain in your jaw, usually the bottom jaw?? If the TM joint is causing problems then its usually a bit still or achy on opening your jaw wide.

Just a thought although I would have though your Dr would have already checked this.

The other thing is that if it was a few days betwen starting the antibtioics and going to the dentist then maybe any abcess had cleared although I would have expected the pain to have cleared as well??

Sorry can't be more helpful but as always if you get it again - off to the Docs with you.