Thread: IBS-C, suddenly IBS-A?

IBS-C, suddenly IBS-A?

Have any of you ever dealt with a sudden shift in your IBS type?

I had a colonoscopy to make sure nothing is wrong with my colon and it's IBS as my doctor suspected. That was not last Thursday but the Thursday before. Since then, I've noticed that I've gone from having constipation issues to waking up every morning, having a normal BM movement (soft easy to pass) and then having maybe two bouts of D. Afterwards my stomach feels crampy and I have had some pain even when not going. I've also had pains right of my belly button which is making me nervous.

I have a lot of bowel obstruction HA, I will admit, and this is actually triggering me. I also have been very stressed/anxious all week for an unrelated reason. Do you think the stress is what is causing the sudden appearance of D? I am very new to the actual diagnosis, so I was hoping for some insight from IBS 'pros'.

Re: IBS-C, suddenly IBS-A?

I have prominently IBS D+ and I always find that it is exacerbated by stress/anxiety so that could well be the cause. However I often find that it is a number of things that trigger mine and sometimes I don't even know why, I just get an attack seemingly out of nowhere.

As for cramps and pain, unfortunately I'd say that's pretty standard of IBS, when it's flared up. I rely heavily on Colpermin (peppermint oil capsules) to help with these symptoms and they're pretty effective most of the time. Other people have had success with Buscopan tablets or Mebeverine (unsure of trade name, Colofac I think?) so you could try either of those. But I don't believe you can interchange any of the above or use in conjuction with each other.

I think there is a helpful post at the top of this topic section, going into detail how IBS works and the symptoms.