Thread: giddiness and off balance

giddiness and off balance

Hi newbie here.having a hard time feeling like i am swaying ,moving when sitting still.Off balance.

So scared of this.Thinking the worst.Please help.Reassurance needed.

It is part of our anxiety - when I am feeling really anxious I feel dizzy and feel as if I have to hold onto the desk, counter, chair whatever - its because my breathing goes wrong and I hyperventilate and panic cuts the blood supply as its too busy doing other things when we panic. I try to take a deep breath and drop mys houlders and just relax and reassure myself its ok and that I am fine ..... sounds easy but it is difficult to do at first but be assured, its must panic and anxiety and it can do all sorts of weird things to us.

The other thing is - I have had a blocked left ear for 3 years now since a bad attack of sinusitis and that makes me feel lop sided but I try not to think about it coz when I do it makes me anxious.

Good luck.love wenjoy x

HI

Welcome to the forum. I experience the exact same symptoms as you and they are very disturbing/alarming. My GP has said it is anxiety but it is difficult to accept that such an alarmiing symptom can be caused by anxiety.

This is one of my threads which you might find helpful.

Dizziness

chillx

Hi Alder,

I experience this and I know how frightening it can be, ive learnt that anxiety can affect the balance mechanisms in our ears which causes us to feel off balance.

I know how frightening it is but please try not to worry and accept it is another symptom of anxiety.
    Hope you feel better soon!
    x

i have this and it is scary but its anxiety
    i had it this morning because i was anxious about going out as i didnt want to go

netty

the dreams of the future are better than the history of the past

hi

i get this when i am anxious, hard to believe its down to anxiety but it is. distraction is a good thing, try to do something that takes your mind off it and it should ease