Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My experience with Sertraline - First ever AD

My experience with Sertraline - First ever AD

Hey guys, this is my first time ever trying an AD, 21 year old guy who's suffered from depression, anxiety (more specifically erythrophobia) for the past 6-7 years, and I thought I'd track my progress on here .
    Went to doctor's on Thursday, explained that stress from work and splitting up from my girlfriend was making it unbearable and he prescribed me Sertraline, 50mg (1 a day, 28 day course).
    Day one of taking it I didn't really feel anything. Day two terrible stomach cramps/nausea, loss of appetite. On day 3 now, taken 5 hours ago, currently in bed, dizziness is too much when I stand up and think it's better for me here for now anyway. Anybody else experienced this? I'm going to complete the course and see how I feel, hopefully should be feeling somewhere back to normal within the next 2-3 months (I'm being very realistic about this). But will definitely give it a good go. Will try my best to post daily updates.

Re: My experience with Sertraline - First ever AD

Hi con
    sounds like the usual set of symptoms from what I can remember, but they should wear off eventually. Been on sertraline for over 10 years off and on and other than them not mixing very well with nsaids (nurofen etc.) no probs
    Hope you start feeling better soon.

---------- Post added at 09:06 ---------- Previous post was at 09:02 ----------

Ps. If you dont feel better in about a week to 10 days, maybe pop back to the doc, or even your local chemist (spk to the pharmacist) or call nhs direct. Not everyone gets on with sertraline, so you may need to switch. I was on fluoxitine to start off with and got switched to sert.