Thread: Blood in phlegm ...very worried

Unhappy Blood in phlegm ...very worried

Hello everyone. Newbie here. Firstly i apologise for the long post.
    I hope someone can help me or put things in perspective for me. When I woke up this morning I cleared my throat and I noticed a glob of bright coloured blood in my phlegm. This has set me into a panic as my worst fear is the big 'C'. Last night when I lied in bed one of my nostrils was very blocked and I don't know if this could have caused the blood in the morning because when I blew my nose this morning there was a very tiny drop of blood on the tissue. I do not have a cold or sore throat so I am at my wits end.

I am an ex smoker and quit 5 months ago so I hope my old habit is not coming back to haunt me.

This has happened to me several times in the past but there was only streaks of blood. I had a chest xray about 2 years ago when I had these episodes and it was clear. I also had a cardiac ct scan late last year and my doctor said that scan also checked my lungs and again it was clear.

What could have caused me to bring up this glob of blood? Could a blocked nostril do this? I should also mention that I have had no blood come up again after this mornings episode.

Please help. Thank you

SarahH is offline Most Naughty-ish Member Ever

Re: Blood in phlegm ...very worried

I'm afraid we are not Drs on NMP. I appreciate that you are worried but your best bet is to see a Dr who can diagnose your problem ( if there is one)

Good luck

Sarah

Thank you Sarah for your reply. I understand this and i will be seeing my dr. Unfortunately he is not available till next week. I am just hoping that in the meantime members of this forum who may have had something similar to this would be able to give me some peace of mind until i see him..

Hi Lala1