Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: help with panic attack sufferers

help with panic attack sufferers

hi, this is my first time on any thing like this so i am a little nervous. The thing is that my partner of two years suffers from panic attacks,(since childhood, she's now in her forties.) Although she has in the past tried to explain what this means to me i didn't always fully understand what was meant by panic attack and how it could take over peoples lives to the extent that it does. What i'm asking for is what i can do for her and where can i go for some practical help and tips, i do fully realise that this is not a short term thing and that it may take many years before we find that time when it doesn't play such a major part in our lives together.

You're very welcome here. You'll find lots of friends with good advice.

Jo

Hello, albyw!

This place is full of people who have experienced things like this and who can give good advice. I think that it's a beautiful thing that you're trying to help support her and help her through this scary anxiety stuff. =)

Best wishes,

- Jamberry

Don't let life get the best of you; instead, give life your best.

Just by being there for your partner, is a hugh help. be patient, and try ,because it will feel like at times that you are gettting no where. goood to have you here, we are here for eachother.

hi
    i think your being really great to help your fiance your a welcome an any of us on this site would be glad to help support you both
    take care j

Hello

Listen, listen and listen somemore and ask what it is that your partner would like you to do. When the going gets tough, cos sometimes it might, be extra supportive and give lots of encouragement. Try not to push too hard or expect too much too soon. Everyone has bad days whether they have panic attacks or not so be that port in a storm.

Be kind and be compassionate cos having panic attacks is hard! Best of all keep on talking to each other.