Thread: No talent

No talent

I was advised to go to a day centre to help with my agoraphobia and social phobia and I agreed to go and I joined an art group there.

I should be pleased that I'm going there as it is progress for me. At first I was. But everytime I've been since I feel fed up. I just see everyone else's art work and they are good at it, but I really am not.

Then I got to thinking, what am I good at, and I can't think of anything. It's really bothering me, it doesn't help with my anxiety problems either because there's so many things I can't do because of that too.

I got home about an hour ago from today's art group and feel the same, I just can't stop thinking of how rubbish I am, how i'm not good at anything. Does anyone else ever feel like this and does anyone have any advice they could give me?

Re: No talent

Heather always bear in mind that art is completely subjective - what is to one persons taste is not to another and there is no such thing as no talent.

You enjoy being creative and go with the flow.

No I never do think I am no good at anything, even I know that's not true - it's not true about anyone anywhere!!

Even if we have no practical skills we will undoubtably have some personal ones.

I can tell you one you do have already - you are a lovely listener and answer posts in a very sensitive way. Would I rather have that or a peice of fine art - well it doesnt really need answering does it hun.

Love Piglet

Heather,
    I don't know you as i'm new, but i'm sure you are very tallented.

I have often felt rubbish and that i'm not creative or can't do stuff.
    I learnt very slowly that i'm ok at art - but i' no leanardo davinci.

I started by colouring in a picture - i got all the colours neatly in the pre drawn lines - i am talented and i can do art, so what if someone else drew it!

Then i moved on to something else, and a lot of my attempts were really rather messy, but i did it - it was creative - if not artistic. So baby steps