Thread: Should be happy - but feel the opposite

Should be happy - but feel the opposite

I've got things that should make me happy and content. A wonderful wife, wonderful children. I have/ had a job I enjoyed.

But I'm crippled by anxiety and depression. I was hosptialised for a while, but all that did was get me addicted to benzos. I'm on quetiapine and escitalapram (and now diazepam 3 x a day). I find the escitalapram makes me more anxious and restless, but the lack of it makes me more depressed.

My psychiatrist thinks I'm close to theraputic doses, but I constantly have suicidal thoughts, because of the mental pain.

I feel so sorry for my beautiful family that I'm this pathetic mess. I'm skilled as a computer programmer, but I'm too anxious to work. I can't concentrate.

Have you been as bad as this or worse and recovered or are recovering? Where is the hope?

Re: Should be happy - but feel the opposite

I work in IT and have been crippled with Anxiety & Depression. Its been a long road but at the moment I think I'm functioning though I'm having to balance my day quite a bit due to the sedative qualities of I guess the Quetiapine, at least thats the discussions with prescribing CPN and GP.

Its really hard to get to a concentrating position when you are ruminating wildly or your mood is low.

I wonder if you can access some support as well, does your company have an EAP scheme where you can get Therapy to help you. It sounds like you are working whilst being on high doses, I'm not sure how quickly that is tenable as it took me a few months once I was diagnosed to get therapeutic doses correct and still there are things you have to navigate.

Good luck and stay the course, things will pass