Thread: Still working but some days are hard !!!

Still working but some days are hard !!!

My head is often like a seething and noisy foreign bazaar, with countless vendors and buyers calling out about their wares and wants. Amid this tumult it can seem nigh impossible to bring the attention your mind needs to be robust and stable. It’s hard to find the sweet spot where mania, anxiety and mood can be ‘okay’ and ‘navigable’. ( c. after blinkist blog )

Today I’m delivering my first session in my secondment with the stabilisers off, indicating things that may help the team that I will call my home until the end of January. I’m nervous because though I have a lot of Agile experience I’m an outsider who has come into the team to offer this constructive appreciation of their challenges. I’m very much of the mindset that I will not ‘do to’ the Team and that the Team should choose any improvements that they want to try and bed in, the Team must commit to stuff not be put upon and I want to try and make sure they understand that.

I’m really anxious about this session and didn’t sleep last night, I’m tired and a little bit vulnerable, I’ve been told to be brave by my manager and he’s intimated that the team feel like they will be up for some of this. It’s just that my confidence into Xmas will hang on how today goes and I know my self critic is just waiting in the wings with self talk that can take my reasonable mood at the moment and undermine it. I need to try and remove it’s power before the session so that I don’t come away with a warped view of failure that may not be such.