Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Long question about partners panic attacks and cannabis

Long question about partners panic attacks and cannabis

Hello all.

I’d like to use this nice forum and you understanding people to be, effectively, sponges for my rant. It’s very hard to find understanding people to talk to.

First of all, some background. I’m the boyfriend mention here: http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/showthread.php?t=20532

I have been smoking cannabis for about seven years now. Sometimes infrequently, sometimes regularly. It's been a fun social thing with old friends and a pleasant mild intoxication.

One day in early March my girlfriend and I decided to eat some hashish milk. As she doesn't like smoking it we thought it would be a pleasant experience for us both... Unfortunately the dosage was too high and she had a severe panic attack, convinced her heart was going to stop and other terrible things. She calmed down eventually but since that night she has been prone to panic attacks, having one every few days and when she's not having an attack she is feeling generally low and ill, often spending most of her day in bed curled up.

She was never really happy about me smoking, and since the overdose "trigger" she has been even more against it. She thinks that me smoking triggers her attacks, so I have cut down slightly. Not enough, something I feel guilty about. She has attacks whether I smoke or not but she is convinced me smoking is a trigger, which is enough.