Thread: 10mg Citalopram to 2-4mg Diazepam

Question 10mg Citalopram to 2-4mg Diazepam

Hi guys, this is my first post so let me know if im doing something wrong.

I have been on Citalopram for about 2 weeks now and have had HORRIBLE side effects. nose bleeds, facial spasms, sweating, insomnia, jittering and more. I went to my doctor today to ask how i can wean off the citalopram, as i just dont think its for me. He suggested that since i have only been on it for two weeks, it should be a lot easier to come of it. He suggested i take 1-2 2mg Diazepam up to 3 times daily for the next four days, as it will 'counteract' the side effects from Citalopram.

i guess my question is, has anyone else had this experience? i assumed i would be put down to 5mg of Citalopram for a while first. I have had some horrible experience with withdrawals from antidepressants before so im worried.

Would love to hear peoples thoughts and experiences on coming off Citalopram.
    Last edited by mel0603; 03-06-18 at 02:33.

Re: 10mg Citalopram to 2-4mg Diazepam

Hi and welcome to the forum

You can come straight off as you haven't been on it long enough to see the real work they do which is where the withdrawal comes in as the body has become used to the drug and then has to adjust again.

Side effects can range with any of these meds and it's so individual. Sometimes some people are not suited to one but are another even when they are in the same class as there are always differences between them and how they impact on other neurotransmitters as well.