Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A success and thank you

A success and thank you

Hi everyone,

I'd like to post about what I've been doing during the last week because I'm hoping it will help others see that there's light at the end of the tunnel.

For those of you who don't know me, I work as a Saturday and casual library assistant. Normally I only work Saturdays but if the library is short staffed they ask me to come in and help. Before last Christmas I was applying for part time library jobs but then suffered a setback after suffering panic attacks at work and at restaurants. The next couple of months were terrible for me and I was signed off work. I lost interest in all of my hobbies, had a really poor appetite, often ended up retching soon after waking and felt very anxious. There were times when I didn't care if I failed to wake up in the morning and I'd lost all hope and belief in getting better.

Earlier in the year I had six sessions of CBT and I slowly started going back to work. To begin with I went in for one hour and steadily built it up until I was working the full Saturday again. It wasn't easy and I've had my fair share of ups and downs to cope with. There was still a lot of anxiety floating around but a course of counselling which I've recently finished has really helped to reduce this. Over the last couple of months I've felt my confidence slowly returning and I started to accept bits of casual work.