Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Howdy

Howdy

Hello all,

I'm not a panic attack suffer, however i'm the son of one. My dad has been suffering panic attacks since the age of 14 (he's 41 now), i've been aware of his "problem" since i was 13 and recently he's gotten worse.

I don't understand him and i really don't like the way he is, i've tried looking for articles / information on to understand and this is how i come across this site.

I want to know what happens, how he feels, why he can be agressive / argumentative and many other things.

Hopefully you can help.

Mop (aka Duality).

Hi Duality

Welcome here - sorry to hear about your Dad.

I'm no expert (but there are plenty of people here more qualified than I am and with much more experience who can answer yoy) but I would think a lot of your Dad's aggressiveness could well be down to stress and anxiety. When you're in a bad way you tend to snap at people, especially those closest to you. It's not nice but it's one of the products of being in such a state.

I'm a very recent sufferer of panic attacks (but a long-term anxiety sufferer I've begaun to realise) and I know I can be snappy, terse and just a plain pain in the backside to have around! When I'm a bad state everything and everyone can feel like a threat or an irritation.

Think of people with 'Road Rage' - although they're not having panic attacks per se - they are under stress and reacting to what's going on in an agressive manner.

Researching here may give you some ideas of things which will help your Dad or at least perhaps gain an insight into the way he feels that will give you some understanding of why he reacts the way he does.

This is just my ha'peth - there are many folks on here who can probably give you a better answer than this!

Good luck and I hope you find some information which can help you

Cheers
    J

hello there,

Sorry to hear about your Dad - it must be very difficult for you not knowing how to help him.