Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can't cope at night at all... haven't slept properly in weeks!

Can't cope at night at all... haven't slept properly in weeks!

Hello,

I've posted a few responses on this site but I've not actually posted a thread before - was too scared to if I'm honest! I decided to finally post a thread though because I am having so many problems at night and hoped someone might be able to offer some advice/information about it.

I'm slightly anxious most days, and very anxious on occasional days, but I usually managed to get myself out of the flat and to the library to get some books out (I'm a student) after a couple of hours of 'psyching myself up'.

But, in the evenings, I feel as if my world is quite literally falling apart - despite being exhausted, I cannot sleep because I get so incredibly panicky - with full-blown panic attacks - as soon as the late evening hits c. 10pm or so. I tend to read for a couple of hours, or put on some relaxing music or even an audio book, but even this doesn't help all that much with the panicking.

In the end when I have to turn off the lights/radio etc I lie in bed panicking really, really badly. It is utterly terrifying. I end up just lying there for most of the night/early morning until I'm so exhausted that I fall asleep for a couple of hours before waking up again completely shattered and grateful that at least another night is over.

I'm not sure if anyone has this sort of problem... feel like a bit of an idiot to be perfectly honest... and really don't know what to do to get out of these awful night-time panics.

I've no idea why they happen, and no idea what to do to stop them!

I would really, really appreciate any advice that anyone could give. I'm willing to try literally anything!

Thank you.
    Sx

Re: Can't cope at night at all... haven't slept properly in weeks!