Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Coping at work!!

Coping at work!!

I'm struggling at the moment, and I mean struggling. I asked for a meeting with my boss today to let him know this - I thought he should at least be prepared. I can manage when all is calm and quiet and I can be in areas where there is no constant movement of people, but am freaking out in all other circumstances. Problem is, I work in a school which is busy, noisy invloves lots of people all wondering about throughout the day!!!

I have been adimant throughout this illness that I will not go on the sick - the routine of going to work is the only normal thing I have left in my life. It is still a place which I can go to AND actually get out of the car on arrival. This, in effect, is my last link with the outside world / my former self. I have been clinging onto it with all my remaining resources.

I am terrified at the prospect of having to take time off in case it makes the agoraphobia worse, then triggering higher anxiety and more panic, not to mention the likelihood of depression.

On the other hand, I am getting more and more depressed with every failure at work. Every time I have to run off to calm down somewhere quiet. Every time one of my colleagues has to pick up aspects of my job because I couldn't stay in a room. Realistically, I can not continue in this way. I don't know what to do!!!

Re: Coping at work!!

do you have internet while u work ????????

i usually log onto a online snooker game , its free , just register and play

i find that it distracts me because im concentrating on the game etc , and just keep thinking u are not alone and it could be alot worse , think of the people dying of starvation and cancer and aids etc

we have at worst a nasty habit , thats it , just a bad learnt behaviour and no matter how u feel , it wont hurt u and deep inside u know that , invite it on when u feel it , ask it to come disrupt ur day and guess what it wont come