Thread: Panic Attack over Fear of dying

Panic Attack over Fear of dying

Hi,
    I am 24 years old and over the past week or so I think I have had 3 panic/anxiety attacks over the thought of dying. i don't think anything is going to harm me, but the thought of getting old and reaching the point of death is actually terrifying me and sending me into a panic attack. I have lost my apitite and am having trouble sleeping. I am now also starting to obsess over this and I know that this is not healthy, I also have the same reaction over the thought of memebers of my family dying.
    Is this common? Is there anything i can do to stop this? The problem is i am currently studying in the USA and I am not due to return home for 8 weeks so can not see a doctor as this is so expensive over here. Any help/advice would be very much appreciated.

hi Sasha,

Welcome aboard!!

it is quite common to worry about health related issues. I think most of us on this forum do this to some extent. Maybe you could do things that make you feel better? Like relaxation tapes, healthy eating (key to lowering anxiety), rescue remedy, etc. Try this for a while and when you get back to the UK, maybe you could try seeing a counsellor/therapist..

Sarah

"Life is too important to take seriously" Corky Siegal

Hi Sasha

Welcome aboard.

Sorry to hear this is worrying you and it is hard to deal with cos we are all going to die at some point - not a lot we can do about that I am afraid. It is how you view the future that is what matters.

It is probably cos you are a bit stressed at the moment and dwelling on this make it worse - a vicious circle.

Maybe a short course of CBT would be able to help these issues but I appreciate you can't get that easily at the moment and even the waiting list in the UK is long.

Maybe Hypnotherapy could help with this as well.

Just some thoughts anyway.

Nicola

"Nearly all happiness comes into our lives through doors we don't even remember leaving open"

hi sasha