Thread: cant do this anymore

cant do this anymore

hi guys please help me, im in a right mess.... i had panic disorder a few years ago and have been well for about 3 years, yes i get anxious and nervy but was fine, the last few weeks have been feeling ill and not myself and then last week it came back, i was still on my old meds and zopiclone and have diazapam if i needed it.. i have quite a stressful job.. but today i had to be signed off sick.. my doctor has given me new meds and im not very good at taking new things as that makes me panic to... i took half a pill today as i dont want to take to much.. this morning when i got up i was really panicky and my husbands friend had to take me to doctors, i had to have diazapam before i went. the doctor gave me escitalopram.. and now after taking half i feel sick and spaced out and really dizzy so am now panicking about that to. is this normal should i feel like this,.. i dont know what i can do i feel such a failure and a burden to my family. I have just led in the bed all day. have lost half a stone in a week and cant eat anything. My fight has gone..

Re: cant do this anymore

Please dont worry Vicky ! ,it is quite normal to feel like you do when you first start a new medication.These feelings will ease within 2-3 weeks.It will take the new tabs 4-6weeks to stabilise .If you try to eat very small ammounts of food regularly this will keep your blood sugar levels normal and you will feel better for it.Smoothies and Complan are an excellent source of nutrition when we loose our appetite.You said you were taking your normal meds,what were they ?If you have stopped another antidepressant you are also probably experiencing withdrawals as well,which can be pretty awful. You shouldnt feel guilty ,its not your fault,you didnt ask to feel like this . Trt to get plenty of rest and drink plenty .Take care , you will get better,The meds have to adjust and this takes a bit of time. Hugs Sue