Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wise words of encouragement and advice needed from HA sufferers.

Wise words of encouragement and advice needed from HA sufferers.

I would post this in the HA forum or elsewhere but is it ok if I feel more comfortable posting it in here? I'm going abroad next month, to college. I'll be living on my own (with a roommate) for the first time in my life, in a new country and going to college too. That's a pretty big deal...and I also have anxiety. I'm not always anxious but it's in there. It's mostly health anxiety. When all symptoms disappear, I start focusing on my heart because well...idk I just do. There's nothing wrong with it that I know of, never had any symptoms but if I'm out alone I start getting panicy worrying about it.

Next month it'll be 1 year since I've had anxiety. I HAVE to overcome this. I'm an honor student, always have been..before anxiety, and I must be an honor student in college too. My question is, is is possible for me to handle college and dorming and all of that with anxiety? Can I do it? Has anyone else here done it? I keep picturing myself having panic attacks in front of everyone. I have had panic attacks since anxiety began, but never in front of anyone (except the first couple, when I thought it was actually a heart issue, not anxiety...and then the 2nd time thought it was diabetes, wrong again) ...but I just can't fail. Failure is not an option. I want straight As. I wanna get through college without any issues. I wanna make my parents proud. I'm an honor student and I must be an uber honor student in college. College is expensive and my parents are going through a lot to make my dreams come true.

Please give me some tips to handle my anxiety while I'm away and in college...please give me words or encouragment, and any personal stories of triumph. Thank you veryyy much.

Re: Wise words of encouragement and advice needed from HA sufferers.