Thread: Travel sickness - meds without sideeffects?

Travel sickness - meds without sideeffects?

I'm new to travel sickness, as a kid we used to travel for hours on end, no problem. Now i'm 25 and i get travel sick travelling for litrally 5 minutes.
    I suffer from panic attacks and ill health too so on top of this is really an awful thing to go through.

Tomorrow (Saturday) i have to tavel in the car for an Hour and a half and i'm dreading it, i have severe emetophobia, which of course brings on panic, which makes me feel worse, its a vicious circle.

Im getting some travel bands tonight, and possibly some ginger biscuits though im worried about eating in the car.

Are there any tablets or natural remedys preferably without side effects (it's taken me up until a few months ago to even have the courage to try parocetomol, sp?).

Any advice?

Thank you xxx

Re: Travel sickness - meds without sideeffects?

i would recommend travel sick tablets as they seem to make you fall asleep which can help and obviously if you believe they will work, this can help you to be ok.

OMG miss moose - you are EXACTLY the same as me. Panic attacks, severe emetophobia...

I just don't go anywhere anymore, if I can help it. Not the answer really. When I do have to I use sea bands, take joyrides occasionally, take diazepam if I have to, carry plenty of water, do the driving myself (preferably with no passengers). I also take motilium 10 - as an emet you might have tried it? My doctor prescribed it to me when I was 14 and suffering from really bad anxiety stomach cramps, and I rediscovered it a few years ago.

I won't take anything that has even the tiniest risk of making me feel ill - the joyrides, diazepam and motilium are fine.