Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ashamed of my job

Ashamed of my job

After finally getting a job i've been working at a library for over a year now. The library holds lectures and debates so there is a lot of very well educated people working and visting the library. So when i tell people where i work they always seem really interested to hear about it. The only thing is i work as a cleaner and i can't bring myself to tell anyone, personally i don't think there is anything wrong with this work and i love it. I took the job because it was perfect to help control my anxiety, i don't have to work with the public and i only work with four other people.
    I haven't told anyone what it is i do and if they ask i just say i'm a general assistant and leave it at that. I actually like my job but all my other friends are teachers or have other professional jobs, in an ideal world i would tell them but i know people can be very judgemental even when they don't mean to be, i just couldn't face telling them and i'm just hoping i don't get found out. I just think it's the kind of thing i'll have to put up with.
    Any advice please?

Re: Ashamed of my job

By hiding it i think it will only add anxiety
    You have nothing to be ashamed of you are working and enjoying it not many people nowadays can say that
    If they judge you its them that have the problem not you