Thread: Agoraphobia is sneaking up on me :(

Agoraphobia is sneaking up on me :(

Hi,
    I am new to this forum and wanted to find out more about how this 'Anxiety' can be tamed.

15 years ago I had a anesthestic to put me to sleep for an operation - however only my body went to sleep - I couldn't move to tell them I was still awake. Thankfully I went into some sort of shock which my vital signs all went and I woke up with tubes in my throat and wired up to all sorts of machines. I am glad to be here today.

Over the years slowly, I started to panic over things - such as I gave up driving on a motorway, stopped using lifts, started to hate heights and wouldn't use any cubicles that didn't have gaps or windows. I thought I could just avoid these things and I would be ok.

Recently had a health scare and from nowhere I really started to panic and I the last week I have a major (embarressing) attack on the train to work and in a car park. At present I will not leave the house in case it happens again and I just feel really on edge and sick all the time.

I am a strong person (or I thought I was) and I want to fight this - but it feels so out of my control. I have named my anxiety 'George' because I thought if it had a name I could either fight it or befriend it.

Doctor has in the last few weeks put me on Flueoxine (made me much worse) and now Sertraline - I feel no better and I am on my 5th day of this med. But this will be in conjuction with sort some of theraphy.

Right - my husband has taken my son out swimming so I am going to attempt to walk to the local village for a bottle of water - wish me luck

Ambers

Re: Agoraphobia is sneaking up on me :(

Hi Ambers welcome to nmp you will find lots of help and information on this fab site and make lots of friends .

Re your Agrophobia you are wise to try and sort it with the help of your GP and people on NMP .

Take Care Maggie xxxx

Thanks for the welcome...