Thread: melanoma spreading

melanoma spreading

i have a new freckle next to a mole... i am terrified this is melanoma spreading as i have seen a picture of dark marks around a mole which is melanoma...help :(

Re: melanoma spreading

Hi Ellie,

I'm no expert on melanoma but my understanding is that a cancerous mole/lesion itself changes, that its diameter gets bigger, its colour changes and it generally changes its form, so I would not worry about a freckle developing. If the mole itself has not changed in appearance then all is fine. It is probably just a new freckle that you have just noticed now. Just for the record, there is a way of checking moles if you suspect they are melanomas or developing into melanoma by an ABCD check -

A = Assymetrical, are the sides equal looking (eg. perfectly round) or a wonky shape? Assymetrical is dodgy.
    B = Borders - are they smooth or irregular as irregular is dodgy
    C = Colour - melanomas can be varied in colour, or change colours, eg. get darker
    D = Diameter - has the mole/lesion spread/ got bigger in size?

Hope this helps hun.x
    Last edited by debs71; 08-10-10 at 12:25.

My aunty had malignant melanoma and I saw it with my own eyes and it was unmistakable - very very black and crusty with a deep red angry edge. I must say she is now 81 yrs old and had this when she was 60.

once seen believe me you would know one again!

I've got a black mole on my leg, quite small, it's shaped like a crescent moon, quite worried but it's been there for years, also got a quite black round one on the back of my arm that's been there for as long, they haven't changed, don't know if it's worth getting them checked out or not as I don't realise they're there and I've heard melanoma can bleed or itch or become sore.