Thread: Why?

Why?

I've been on 20mg of citalopram since January after a bad few months. I've been feeling great, with just a few grotty days which I guess is to be expected, but over the past 2 weeks the grotty days have been more consistent, and on Saturday, for the first time in about 11 months I had a bit of a spoon out and I'm feeling pretty pants today after a rubbish night of waking up and odd thoughts. What would have caused this sudden relapse like that? Fortunately I need to get to my doctors this week to get a new prescription, but just wanted to see if this is a common occurrence, I'm really new to all this. Thanks for your time.

Re: Why?

Hi gav

By a "spoon out", do you mean a night on the beer? If so, alcohol is dreadful for making anxiety worse. If you have a trawl through the posts on this site, you'll find that it affects loads of people like this (including me).

Anxiety and depressive illnesses do seem to have lots of ups and downs, whether you're on medication or not, which is a bit of a bummer as it makes the whole experience very unpredictable.

My advice is that you mention the increase in grotty days the next time you see your GP - I'm sure he/she will be able to help out with this.

Hi yeah sorry, that wasn't the best term to use, what I meant was I had a mini anxiety attack, a hot flush that spun me out. I haven't had anything like that in nearly a year. The silly thing is, I've been feeling so good and confident recently that I was gonna talk to the doctor about coming off the meds, then this happens??

like Blueangel said we all have our off days. I was feeling much better until 2 weeks ago and suddenly my anxiety level shot up and the dizzy came back. Just take one day at a time - baby steps.

Hi Gav,