Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Citalopram and Serotonin

Citalopram and Serotonin

Hi Guys

I have been looking at this site for about 4 months now, but only just registered today. I found this site early Oct 2010 after my doctor prescribed me citalopram in an attempt to decide whether I should actually take it or not. My upteenth breakdown the next morning at work actually did the convincing though and I started to take it that day.

My question though - I have suffered virtually no side effects, and after approx 1 month I started to feel better. I cannot even say I feel like my old self because (I am now 44), I actually really don't remember feeling this good. I still have anxieties and low(ish) self esteem, but I am able to put everything into perspective like I have never done before. After years of crashing in and out of anxiety / depressive periods I now feel almost human.

So here is my question - is it possible that I have either not produced enough, or reuptaked (if that's a word) too much seritonin my whole adult life. I.e. is it possible that this has been a permanent condition with me, and if that is the case why would I stop taking citalopram?

I know that sounds like an addictive statement, but if I were suffering from a long term physical disease, and needed medication to assist it, there would be no question about me being able to take that medication for life, so why is it different for mental illness.

I have read so much on this site about how to come off citalopram, and that it we will not be on it for life. I just wondered if I could get some opinions on what I have said and whether you think I am just speaking from an addictive (physcological) point of view or whether my thiniking has some validity.

BTW - I thank everyone who has posted on this site. I have gained so much knowledge and support from just reading the posts and the brilliant information on this site, that alone has been a great help to me.

Thanks
    Donna
    xx