Thread: Fear of schizophrenia/serious mental illness

Fear of schizophrenia/serious mental illness

Hi everyone... ugh, I thought I was getting better, but now I'm feeling anxious again. Thankfully not as badly as I was before I was being treated, but I really don't want to start slipping backwards again.

I've posted on here a few times in the past month about various things and this forum has been a great help, so I hope I'll be able to find support here again! I am a 19-year-old uni student and have been suffering from generalized anxiety disorder and panic disorder as well as mild depression for the past two and a half months (although now that I've been to a few therapy sessions I realize that anxiety is something I've been dealing with all my life, it's just flared up now). It's been a hell of a ride, and not something I would wish on my worst enemy. It started out with a panic attack I had at work after waking up with a sore arm one day because I was afraid I was going to have a heart attack. Over the next few weeks I developed all the telltale physical symptoms of panic disorder: chest tightness and occasional pain, feeling like I was choking, shakiness, tingles in the face and scalp, derealization a few times... Every day I was terrified of dying and ran through a gamut of illnesses that I thought I had: heart attack, stroke, appendicitis, kidney stones, a collapsed lung, and probably my biggest fear, a brain aneurysm. I was terrified of going anywhere, wasn't able to concentrate on my schoolwork and would break down crying and panicking at least once a day. I went to my doctor who checked me out and then prescribed 0.5 mg of Ativan to control my panic attacks and while it's a godsend for when I'm in the midst of an attack, it didn't work to control my anxiety overall and I was put on 10 mg of Cipralex a few weeks later. Unfortunately I got the side affect of it making my anxiety worse before better and I ended up rushing to the ER one night after feeling t