Thread: Always feeling panicky

Always feeling panicky

Hi everyone,
    I'd really appreciate some advice.
    For the past month or so, I have been feeling like I'm having a really low-level panic attack for hours at a time. It mainly occurs when I'm at work, but sometimes at home as well.
    I have that dull knotted achy feeling in my stomach and i can feel my heart beating (although it's not unusually fast or irregular). I feel sick and nauseous a lot of the time, although I do still eat enough. I used to suffer from an eating disorder, and it's important to me to keep my eating under control.

I have always been an anxious person, and have rather a lot of things worrying me right now. I am studying for a PhD as well as holding down a FT job, we have financial problems and last week we received some bad news about my sister-in-law's pregnancy. I also have on-going problems with my parents.

I'm wondering what to do about these feelings, because although I am still functioning ok - i am going to work, eating, keeping the house clean etc, i don't feel like i am me. I don't relax, I ache beacuse I think my body is so tense all day long.
    I am about to start kickboxing classes, and I really hope doing some real exercise will blow away some of this feeling, but I am wondering if anyone has anymore advice?
    I'd be really appreciative of any thoughts anyone has to offer.

Thanks,
    Jones x

PS. Crikey, I'm sorry this is such a long post!

Hi Ive PM'd you also but just to say Im the as you constantly feeling a bit panicky, some days its my breathing others it just panicky for no reason and also I get the horrible spaced out feelings.
    Exercising definitely helps, Im even considering going first thing in the morning in the hope it will set me up for the day.
    Ive been to 3 counselling sessions but so far havent seen any improvement I think it takes longer though.
    Jenny