Thread: antidepressants..Do they help anxiety

antidepressants..Do they help anxiety

I took dosulepin for 15 years but came off it a year ago. I am experiencing high anxiety at the moment but I know this was triggered by physical health problems. I need to go in hospital for an operation. I haven't got a date yet and in quite a lot of pain.

When I think back, my anxiety even on the meds was quite high at times.
    My GP put me back on dosulepin a week ago. I know they can take 4 weeks to get into my system but the side effects, dry mouth, tinnitus and drowsiness are making me even more anxious.

I am even wondering if it is worth me sticking with it as I am not convinced they will help any way.

Do you think you have improved on medication or not?

Re: antidepressants..Do they help anxiety

I was put on sertraline for my Anxiety. They have definitely made an improvement to my anxiety as I'm able to control it a lot better now! I've no experience with the medication you are on but hopefully somebody else has.

I think I am just being impatient this time round and want an overnight cure
    I was in a state first thing this morning hence my post.
    Now I am slightly more rational in thinking and know I need to wait a few more weeks.
    I just upped my dose to 50mg last night so I guess that is why I am suffering this morning.

Just wish I didn't have the physical health problems and worry of an op then maybe my anxiety wouldn't have come back.

Quote Originally Posted by Annie0904 View Post
    When I think back, my anxiety even on the meds was quite high at times.
    Maybe the dose was inadequate. How much were you on before?

but the side effects, dry mouth, tinnitus and drowsiness are making me even more anxious.
    Was tinnitus also a problem when you took dosulepin before and if so is your doctor aware of this?

Do you think you have improved on medication or not?