Thread: Advice for a teenager?

Advice for a teenager?

Hello everyone

One of my students at school is having panic attacks and is finding it difficult to cope. Does anyone know of any good online resources suitable for teenagers that I could point her in the direction of/print things from for her? She's 14.

Thanks!

B x

hi there
    MIND do a good range of self help booklets including ones for anxiety and panic attacks, they can be ordered from their website or viewed on the website as well: http://www.mind.org.uk/Information/Factsheets/

i guess one of the main things that will help her is support from teachers and knowing that she can 'escape' a class if she needs to. Im a uni student and find that being in the lecture theatre is a big trigger as i know that i cant leave if i need to. The reassurance that she can leave a lesson if she needs to may mean that she's less anxious about attending classes and therefore doesnt feel the need to leave. Working out escape plans like this relieves anxiety so even if they are never used they are still a great help.

Good luck with it, its nice to see a teacher be so understanding!

Alice

I think this website would be good, I've been taking them from I was 14 so she could pm me if she wants to chat. Tell her that although it's difficult to try and work thru the attacks and try to keep herself socially active. Has she been to a doc or is there a counsellor at the school who shecould talk to or could her doc refer her and try to solve the problem while she's still young? pm me if you wanna chat some more or tell your student she can pm me anytime cos I know what she's going thru.

"You die if you worry and you die if you don't"

im 15 and i have them sort of often and my mom has done well to just hug me and tell me everything will be OKAY. that's all i really look for when i am panicky...i need someone calm and supporting around. that's nice that u help ur daughter.
    Love ya, Amanda

Hi