Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How do you cope with procrastination/apathy towards work?

How do you cope with procrastination/apathy towards work?

The question is in the title really!

I'm self employed and work from home as a sound designer, I also create video content for online schools.

One of the major issues is that sometimes I will feel crappy and not work for a week or two, and then have to try and put a lot of work into a short space of time. The issue being.....I can't be bothered!

I know the obvious answer is 'just sort yourself out and get on with it', but it's incredibly hard some days.

What I do isn't complicated, but requires planning and a certain about of creativity. Some days I just don't feel like I have it in me, but I still need to get things done.

It does sound a bit like a first world problem, but it's a real problem for me.

Re: How do you cope with procrastination/apathy towards work?

Why not schedule your work day? That's what I do when I'm working. I know I wouldn't feel as motivated if I worked from home. To easy to goof off. Maybe setting deadlines like you would in an office would help?

Hmmm, seems like one of those things that's too simple to try, but I'll give it a shot.

I did actually toy with the idea before, but with two young kids a schedule tends to be put behind school runs and vomit accidents, but I will think hard about the times where I can guarantee work time.

Thanks.

Agree with making a schedule, I also used to remind myself that it's better to do a bit every day rather than try and cram it all at the end because it was causing me anxiety issues. We all have days where the creative juices just aren't flowing but I think scheduling is a good place to start!

Pregabalin 300mg

Ok I'll definitely do that.

I'd also be interested in other techniques of dealing with the apathy directly. Tackling the cause rather than the symptoms (so to speak).

I will happily tackle both though!