Thread: Travel Anxiety - Going to Japan

Unhappy Travel Anxiety - Going to Japan

Hi Everyone, I am new to this and needed a place to talk about my anxiety. I will be going to Japan by myself in a few weeks and I'm starting to really panic. Ive had panic attacks in the past and am so afraid that this will ruin my whole trip. Help!

Re: Travel Anxiety - Going to Japan

Even if you do have a panic attack why should it ruin it? I had a panic attack on a flight to Portugal and at the Princes palace in Monaco but I survived them and I still enjoyed my trips Just feel the fear and do it. Don't worry about panicking. Most likely you won't but even if you do what is the worst thing that can happen?

Great advice Annie, it's so true that even if you do have a panic attack when travelling it definitely doesn't mean your holiday will be ruined. I had a few on my recent travels and it certainly didn't end up ruining the trip, it just meant employing the same techniques I would at home and letting myself calm down again before getting back on with things.

Shola, it's likely that your panic is at its peak right now, and you're probably catastrophising things that could go wrong on your trip. Once you actually get there you will have confronted your fear and you'll realise that none of the things you fear are happening, which should help ease your anxiety.

Not sure if you've been to Japan before but it's a great place, very safe, very clean and with excellent doctors and high living standard, the people are friendly and helpful.

When I had my panic attack in Monacco 2 policemen and 3 firemen came to assist me It is almost worth going back just to have another panic attack!!

Shola,