Thread: Anxiety ruining a lifelong dream trip

Anxiety ruining a lifelong dream trip

Hello to all of you. Im new to this. My name is Dirk and Im from Ibiza, Spain. I felt like writing here because im tired of worrying everyone back at home with my problems and I think relying too much on "comfort people" for solace is probably unhealthy. So basically I have dreamt with travelling to the USA my entire life. I have been suffering from anxiety for years now. Basically I get a tight chest pain when im very nervous but it has never been a constant thing. It has been very on and off and I started getting it again a month before leaving Spain. I also fear very open spaces and things like giant buildings. Back to the point, I hate flying and I have never done it for more than two hours at a time. Now I was facing a thirteen hour flight. I pulled through and survived it although feeling uneasy but not anxious or panicky. We got to Los Angeles and I thought I had jet lag under control. The day after, having barely slept or eaten we started our road trip and anxiety was starting to hit me on the road: Becoming fidgety, tight chest, random pains here and there (I had a full checkout a month ago that said I am perfectly healthy). My doctor prescribed me 0.5 Alprazolam twice a day, which does somehow help but Im guessing that tolerance makes the effect gradually weaker. Now its the third day and we are in Vegas and I feel terribly uncomfortable, tight chest again when driving through the Strip and I see all these normal people smiling and enjoying themselves and I cant help but feeling really stressed out. I am back at the hotel and I feel better but I have a twenty day trip ahead of me and I was wondering if anyone got through something like this. I read that jet lag may be exacerbating my anxiety symptoms and a lot of people are telling me to give it a few days and I will be ok. That it might also be overwhelming being my first huge trip. I just dont want to have to tell my fr