Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Just started taking Cipralex 5mg for the first time

Just started taking Cipralex 5mg for the first time

Hi guys,

I've been spending a few days browsing these forums and reading everyone's messages. I was prescribed Cipralex 5mg on Friday but had to wait until today to get the prescription filled as it needed to be ordered in. I don't suffer panic attacks per se but constant worry (where I wake up 1-2 times a night nauseous and panicked about nothing in particular) and social anxiety (stemming from bad bullying in school)

It's taken me an hour and quite a bit of teariness to steel myself to take one. But I finally just did. I'm mostly worried about side-effects as I'm emetephobic and also I work in a restaurant so long hours having to deal with the normal stresses of work as well as any possible side-effects.

Any advice anybody can give me? I've stocked up on ginger ale (4 for £1.50 in Tesco, can't beat it) crackers and bananas but it's mostly the thought of missing work that is scaring me as I'm on a zero hours contract and can't afford to miss shifts.

I've seen how supportive everyone has been on here and I really need people who have been there, done that. My boyfriend is wonderful but he's never had to cope with mental illness.

Re: Just started taking Cipralex 5mg for the first time

Hey, welcome to the club

5 mg really isn't a super high dose, so you'll probably be just fine.

I have massive panic attacks when I feel like I'm going to be sick to my stomach, so I was worried about the nausea too. I did get a bit nauseous when I started out on 10 mg of lexapro, but it was really just a little uncomfortable as opposed to that awful, impending feeling that you're going to throw up.

I doubt you'll miss any work, and after a few weeks you'll be right as rain. Hopefully it helps you with your anxiety, I know it has helped me.
    Sometimes I fly like an eagle, sometimes I'm deep in despair.