Thread: Any comments very, very welcome x

Any comments very, very welcome x

Hello All,

I have never used one of these sites before, but I have read a lot of your posts and I think it would be really useful to liaise with you about some of my experiences, in particular the horrible situation I seem to have found myself in this week.

I am 25-years-old, and have always been a bit of a 'worrier'. Last year I underwent some CBT sessions to try to help with my obsessive ruminating and fixation on negative thoughts. However, I have never taken medication for the problem, and it has never affected my life to the extent that it is at the moment.

I am with a lovely man, who is absolutely perfect for me. He really makes me happier than I have ever been, and I have never ever had any doubts as to whether we should be together. Everything has been great!

On the Saturday just gone, I met up with my ex, who I haven't seen for about a year. We broke up a couple of years ago, and have kept in touch sporadically. Every time - apart from this one - I have been very angry with him, although have kept this quite well hidden. He was really quite nasty to me during a lot of the four years we were together. He suffered from bad depression, and would lose interest in me for months at a time. Additionally, he was verbally very abusive and would should at me a lot, telling me I always ruin everything and that he wanted to treat me so badly, that I would become ill myself. Really horrible stuff!

I knew I was falling out of love with him, and found this pretty traumatic. The two weeks prior to the break-up were horrendous for me emotionally, as I kept going over everything in my mind and questioning if it was really the right thing to do. Even after we broke up, I questioned myself repeatedly. But I stuck to my guns and we didn't get back together, THANK GOODNESS!