Thread: scared panicy because of esa and medical

scared panicy because of esa and medical

hi im new to this got myself in a real mess and no one to tuen to im a single parent and my son is 9 ,i had to change benfits so my doc told me to apply for esa as iv suffererd depression anxiarty and agoraphobia for years now ,applied for esa about a mth ago since i have not recieved any money or heard anything been asked to go for a medical but i was petrified og going and gettn there as i dont drive have no one to go with etc ,so my doc faxed them over a note to say my situation and that i wasnt fit to travel ,now had a letter bk today saying its not good enough and i still have to attend,, i dont get it what do they want im in a worse state now and took more antidepressants to try and calm down

Re: scared panicy because of esa and medical

You need to get back in touch with your doctor and ask if there's anything more he can do. If he says you're not fit to travel, then the assessors should come to you, but Atos, the company in charge, are notoriously unsympathetic. You ask what do they want -- well, they want to deny you ESA, that's what they want. Unfortunately, the government are currently re-defining illness to exclude depression and anxiety, so you may have a fight on your hands to get any benefit at all. They'll expect you to claim Job Seeker's Allowance and to jump through hoops in order to survive. If you are able, you should get welfare rights advice from the Citizen's Advice Bureau or a mental health pressure group like MIND. Good luck.