Thread: Obsessive breathing

Obsessive breathing

Hiya
    Im new here, I have always read posts on here but never made an account. Basically I have had anxiety for a few years now, but I have become significantly better through therapy. I am a uni student who is doing exams at the moment so my anxiety is obviously higher than it usually would be, pre-exams I was doing well, feeling positive. I also have a therapist who I have been working with, we are doing really well and have uncovered most of what I've repressed for years. However, because I'm nearly finished the exams and I am really burnt out and exhausted, for the last week or so I have been obsessing over my breathing. I can't stop thinking about it, which is horrible during the exams because I think I'm going to panic or pass out, even though I always get through it. I know that this will eventually pass but am mainly looking for some reassurance because I know this is related to obsessive thinking, I have obsessive thinking with other things too health related/related to myself but it's just become something really scary and I keep worrying about what I'll do if I am trapped with this forever. I can't seem to stop thinking about it however distracted I am. I feel like I have to yawn or take a really deep breath in order to feel ok but that goes once I have got into the cycle again. Do you think once I finish exams and remove the pressure of that I can actually mentally and physically relax and recover and that will help me to go back to normal? This is awful, would love to hear tips from anyone that has/has experienced this or similar. I don't want to be stuck with this forever.

Re: Obsessive breathing

Have you told your therapist about your breathing worries?

I tend to think very negatively when I don't feel 100% - my anxiety started with ill health.. It flares up at stressful times too, possibly because during those times I don't feel 100% (through tiredness or whatever).