Thread: I think I have OCD

I think I have OCD

I'm not sure if I have OCD or if it's just general anxiety. I find social events a nightmare because the next day I find myself in a state of panic that I have offended somone by saying or doing the wrong thing. I find that my memory goes blank (not because of the alcohol but it seems to freeze with panic). I constantly have to check my mobile phone to see who I phoned and when.

I was out on Friday with colleagues and have so far contacted 4 people who have said that I have nothing to worry about but 2 people have yet to return my call and I am in a terrible state because I think that I have offended them and that I will be in trouble when I get into work tomorrow. I have been unable to function all weekend with the worry, I just want evrything to beokay.

Is this OCD?

Hi Lucia
    I'm not a doctor, but it sounds like anxiety to me, not OCD.
    Take care,
    Cobweb

I get that and wondered if it was OCD.

I always have the fear that I will accidently say something offensive or horrible to someone or a sentence will pop into my brain thats really horrible and I'll feel I have to say it and I have to say it under my breath or really concentrate so I don't say it.

And then whenevr I text people I read the text about 3 times before I send it, send it then go back to my sent messages read it again twice and check I sent it to the right person. I also check I haven't accidentally phoned people all the time as well.

I don't know what it is, but it's nice to know someone knows how I feel.

Sounds like OCD to me.

I am so glad to have someone to talk to who goes through the same things I do.