Thread: blood count

blood count

Can any one tell me what a full blood count looks for ?

Re: blood count

my husband has had swollen fingers on one hand for 4 weeks now and hes got his blood results today, she said they are not right and you have to see your doctor on monday. Im really concerned for him cos he asked her was it artheritis and she said no that one came back all clear.

It was a full blood count, I get health anxiety not just for myself but for those i love too,,, My mindfulness is difficult to do with this in mind.

I'm no expert, but to my knowledge it looks at the red cells, white cells and measures of inflammation (ESR). It looks at the size, quantity and volume of the cells.

As he has an inflammation problem, possibly it's his ESR that's raised? But I'm not medical, this is just a guess.

How awful when they tell you to wait til Monday tho. You'll spend all weekend worrying unnecessarily. Is your hubby worried, or just you?

I too worry about EVERYONE'S health, not just mine.

Sorry I can't be more help, and I know you will worry until Monday, but try to stay as calm as you can; things are always worse than we fear.

Hi Mirry,

a full blood count looks at the levels of all the different blood cells in your blood and will indicate whether you are anaemic for example. It can also sometimes show if theres an infection due to a change in the number of white cells ( these are the ones which fight infection). These are the most common things to find from a full blood count.

Hope this helps....try not to worry too much, sometimes results can be just a little off and sometimes they will repeat the test to check again. Or maybe he's just anaemic and needs some iron tablets.

Take care

Coni x

I have blood counts done to check my iron every few months. It checks your white cell count, red cell count, platlets, etc............... it can pick up any problem really, if there is anything wrong in the body one of the levels will be high or low.