Thread: Sinking feeling in chest

Sinking feeling in chest

Hi - this is my first time here - I keep having this weird sensation of 'sinking' in my chest - it's like everything in there is kind of sinking down towards my stomach. I get kind of shallow breathing and I feel really, really tired and veryweak. It passes - sometimes after half an hour sometimes a bit more and it's always so far happened when I've been outside walking. I've got a lot of stressful things going on in my life at the moment - my own feeling is that it's related to this as it doesn't get worse if I continue walking and I'm usually quite fit and active. Also, I think I make it worse when it comes on by worrying about it. It just comes and goes when it feels like it. I can walk up a steep hill for half an hour without feeling bothered. Any ideas? Thanks for reading this.

Re: Sinking feeling in chest

Hi,

I get these feelings too. It's sort of similar to a grieving feeling, along with anxiety. Are you feeling low at all ? Do you think this could be part of depression related anxiety?

Take care x

Thanks for your reply, Katie - I'm sure it's related to anxiety and maybe a little depression too. I'm having a hard time at work at the moment - people in offices who think it's cool to be catty and bitchy don't realise how upsetting they can be. Plus there's other stuff,too, so maybe it is that after all. I know what you mean about the grieving thing and it's sort of like that but not quite. I feel really indecisive at the time it's happening and if someone asked me if I wanted brown or white bread, I wouldn't be able to give them a firm answer!! Hopefully, the more I talk about it, the less it will happen. Thanks again x

Yep, it does sound like stress related anxiety. I too can be a nightmare with trying to make decisions, when I'm feeling unwell, some of the most simplest of things seem difficult.