Thread: Stiff back of next, throat and dizziness

Heart worry: Stiff back of neck, throat and dizziness

I've been doing well recently and haven't posted any problems...(I used to post all the time a couple of years back, so it's progress)...but ..

Last night I have a few pains in my jaw and some ringing in my ears, so i worried about heart problem, but then they seemed to stop after a while.

I woke up this morning in a really good mood and was having a good day at work (I'm a teacher)..then during my final class this morning the back of my neck suddenly went stiff and felt pressure around my head... I then started to feel light headed and get dizzy rushes...

I remember a friend of mine had high blood pressure sometimes, and the other day he told me he usually feels it in his neck... so I freaked out and thought i must be having the same and that if my blood pressure if rising fast that I can feel it in my neck and head, then something terrible must be about to happen, like a heart attack!! (my worst fear!)

The school nurse said my blood pressure was 140/80... she said it was only up a little and gave me some vitamin C... so I cancelled my last morning class so i could lay down and rest. I was so freaking, convinced that something was about to happen to my heart. Then after 45 minutes, i got up to have my blood pressure checked again, it was 135/75.

The nurse said she thinks is stress. But after that, I had some chest pains when eating. I then slept for 90 minutes and felt a lot better.

I've had countless heart tests over the years, so in theory i know it's ok... but when these things happen, logic goes out of the window and i just really freak out and get so scared because of what i feel happening in my body. Sorry for the long post, i just need to let it out.
    Last edited by Dazza; 22-12-11 at 13:15.

* A journey of a thousand miles begins with one single footstep *

* The only constant in life, is change *

Re: Stiff back of next, throat and dizziness