Thread: Back to square 1...or something is really wrong :(

Back to square 1...or something is really wrong :(

I'm still kind of newbie here as I was diagnosed about 2 months ago (probably it started more than 1 year ago). Anyway I started Escitalopram 20mg and Xanax 1mg. After about 6 weeks I was feeling better and started to reduce Xanax to 0.75mg and about 10 days ago to 0.5mg. I thought that Escitalopram was working and was planning to reduce it further. However on this Monday out of the blue HA came back strongly along with neuro symptoms which I'm fearing the most (MS/ALS fear). Of course this started the HA cycle and last night could hardly sleep at all :(

Since starting the meds I have had a weak feeling in my left leg (sometimes arm also) but was getting better, although never disappeared. Now my right side was affected also...in the beginning the leg...but now it's more the right arm...so left leg and right arm. I don't think it's really weak...it just feels kind of disconnected or "light" and a little numb...don't know how best to describe it. But the fact that all my limps are kind of affected at a certain degree, send me down the ALS route...and somehow MS which I was fearing before doesn't sound that bad...kind of scary really.

Today increased the dose of Xanax again and hopefully will feel a bit better. I plan to start the vacations in 2 days....but HA is ruining them already :(

Now a few questions:
    - Is it possible that Escitalopram wasn't working and it was Xanax helping me...so when I reduced it HA came back strongly?
    - Or even when meds are working HA can come back out of nowhere?
    - Should I try a different SSRI or should I wait a bit more?

Thanx a lot
    Last edited by matrix123; 16-08-12 at 10:07.

Re: Back to square 1...or something is really wrong :(

anyone please?