Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Superstition OCD ruining my life and relationship HELP!?!

Post Superstition OCD ruining my life and relationship HELP!?!

Hi I'm new to No More Panic and don't really know how to use it or what to write so bear with me, but I'd really appreciate if any of you guys could help with my problem or whether you have suffered from it too.

I suffer from mental tics, irrational thoughts/fears and superstitious routines. When I was around 12-16 I used to get tics where I would nod my head repeatedly, twitch my nose, blink really hard, make strange noises like "hum" all the time and if I didn't do it, then I would start feeling sick and get a lump in my throat until I made the noise then it would go away, but only until the next time.

The things which gets me down the most though are these stupid routines I HAVE to do otherwise I think either my boyfriend or mum will die. If anything is related to the number 3, that is bad. If I blink when looking at words or numbers that are unlucky or relate to people I love, then bad things will happen. For example, if I was to read something and I blinked on the letters 'ER' , I would have to read them backwards, because 'ER' stands for Emergency Room which means bad things. Also, If I touch anything on my right side, I HAVE to then touch it with my left side because the right side signifies death (as if it were like an imaginary timeline in my head like this: Birth-------death)