Thread: Going crazy :'(

Going crazy :'(

Hello!
    I'm a newbie and I joined to get all my worries out I feel I can't keep saying out loud without sounding like a broken record!!

My mum passed away 6 years ago with lung cancer when I was 25! I never knew how terrible terminal cancer could actually be and the minute she passed away all these panic attacks about losing her and dying came flooding in.

Now the problem with me which is a little bit bizarre is I'm now petrified of cancer and convince myself on a daily basis that I have breast cancer. It drives me insane. I think about it all the time and I just can't deal with it anymore but what eats me alive is I don't have the confident to go to the Drs to get this looked at. I'm too petrified!

Does anyone out there feel the same way?

Thank you all for your time x.x

Re: Going crazy :'(

First of all, I'm sorry for the way you lost your mum, that must have been very hard. A fear of cancer is of course very common in people with health anxiety, and many women are particularly terrified of breast cancer. Apart from anything else, it is so 'high profile' and so much in the media, and this tends to both trigger and fuel this particular fear.

Do you have any reason to think you have breast cancer or is it a generalised 'what if I have it?' type of fear? Either way, here's what I would do: make an appointment with the nicest, most sympathetic GP in your practice, tell him or her everything you have told us here, and have a thorough examination. All will be well and you will be reassured. Living with such a fear is no way to live and I am sure it will be proven to be completely unnecessary. Best wishes from Annie

I have an ultrasound once a year, people are laughing at me, they don't know i struggle with my thoughts every day like you do.so once a year i reassure myself i'm fine and if it happens, i would have caught it just in time.sorry for your loss, hope you find comfort here like the rest of us