Thread: swollen lymph node on back of head?

swollen lymph node on back of head?

Hello all, I've been doing really well with my anxiety but lately I've felt a bit ill and last night my neck started hurting. Where the bottom of your head meets your neck. It feels really achey and I've noticed a small lump its barely anything but its hard. The area is swollen and as a baker I get a stiff neck alot. I have never had this before though and I'm starting to panic as I went to doctor google because i caved now I cant atop thinking about it. Anybody had anything like this? Xxx

Re: swollen lymph node on back of head?

Yep loads of times, I have had them on my skull just behind ear as well, its amazing where these nodes are!!
    If you have any sort of infection then its normal for your nodes to swell, I cut my gum on a sharp crisp and a day later the node under my jaw was really painful for a week before going away.
    If you get really bad infection like when I had chickenpox as an adult then the nodes where yours is up were huge with me and they stayed up for next 10 years. If I poked and prodded them they got bigger and painful but did eventually go away. This is normal after bad infection.

So don't prod and poke check again in a few days and see if any bigger or more painful. If it continues to grow and get more painful then it would be sensible to see a Dr because you could have an infection in the area that could need treating but I bet you it will have gone away within a couple of weeks.

You really don't need to worry about any lymphomas etc.

Thanks country girl I think I know it will probably be a bad neck and in turn its made the lymph a bit tend but you know how the mind likes to remind you what it could be. I'll stop prodding and check in a couple of days. Xxx