PDA

View Full Version : Health anxiety misery...

LOUBELLABEE
19-08-11, 22:06
Suffering from health anxiety for many years, I have often resulted to reviewing these forums, to try and gain some comfort and help me to rationalise. This however, is the first time I have posted on here. Aged 30, I thought I'd try and offer comfort to some others who may be going through the same thing. Obviously I am not a doctor, as if I was Im sure I would never have got into some of the deperate situations I have but if you have been diagnosed with Health anxiety, I can only sympathise with you.
For the last 3 months, I have suffered so badly and convinced myself that I have something wrong with my heart and that I am suffering or had suffered a heart attack. Statistically, as a non smoker, aged 30, no family history etc its unlikely to be my heart but until the last few days I have not been able to ratrionalise and it has taken over my life.
It started with slight discomfort in my chest, to severe chest pain, pain in my neck, jaw, down my arm, sweating, severe inner trembling/vibrating and not being able to get a full breath. Ive literally lived the last 3 months being aware of every breath, constantly trying to get a full deep breath and feeling like Im suffocating. I visited A&E and after an ECG I was told it must be anxiety, depsite this I have visited my GP constantly, trying to convince them I have a heart problem. You would think after having these symptoms in 2008, that i would have recognised this was all anxiety...especially as these are not the only symptoms I have experienced and every test, xray, mri etc has always been clear.
No matter how much reassurance I have, I always convince myself I am dying and the doctor has missed something. I even start convincing myself that the blood tests, xrays and scans are not correct.