PDA

View Full Version : Can doctors lie to you?

sianyruss
26-08-11, 12:38
I know this is a huge symptom of HA, but are doctors allowed to lie to you? I had a Barium Enema and the doctor said my bowel was normal (but looked very shifty about it like he wasnt telling me). If he had seen ANYthing suspicious would he have had to tell me? Even if it was elsewhere in my abdomen? Is it unlikely I have bowel cancer if it didnt show up in the Barium Enema? Im so scared and dont have a Sigmoidoscopy until a month. I dont think I can cope that long. Please help.

Jenny63
26-08-11, 12:45
Short answer is NO

They have a care of duty to their patients and are duty bound to tell you, good or bad:winks:

Gemma T
26-08-11, 15:34
Jenny is spot on with the duty of care owed. Ive studied to be a solicitor and choose clinical negligence as one of my electives. I also worked alongside clin neg when I was a personal injury paralegal. I can assure you that they would not because of clinical neg claims. They can run in to millions and seriously damage their reputation. It would not be worth it to them x x x

Em.ma
26-08-11, 15:36
Hello. No they are paid to care for you and 99.99999999999999999999 per cent doctors want to and do that. Yes we read about people getting misdiagonised but there only human and make mistakes.
For example you go in with tummy cramps. Doc has a wide range of knowledge so will say its acid. Instead of thinking the worse

Anxious_gal
26-08-11, 17:36
Ask for your medical report file.

Hazel B
26-08-11, 19:18
No! They have an oath and an obligation. Its anxiety tricking you.

london
26-08-11, 19:53
thay cant lie its unlawfull
god bless

debs71
26-08-11, 20:07
Doctors or anyone else in healthcare do not lie, no.