PDA

View Full Version : My situation/introduction

ynwa7778818405
29-08-11, 16:40
Hello everyone. I will try to get straight to the point. I'm 31 years old and live in Devon. I work as a Deputy Headteacher in a special school. My problem will seem strange for someone who does the job I do, but I suffer from anxiety and panic attacks if I am faced with a situation where I have to speak publicly. As you can imagine my life is absolutly filled with anxiety, thinking I might have to do a talk at some point. I can cope with limited situations but most absolutely terrify me, and I will refuse or avoid the situations through fear of having a panic attack when presenting. My heart races and I really feel that I need to get out of the situation as quickly as possible it is such a dreadful feeling. Everytime we have an Ofsted inspection I go through months of unbelievable stress, simply because of this (what if I were to have a panic attack in front of an inspector). This problem has absolutely plagued me for 12 years now since having my first panic attack during a presentation at university and had to leave the room (so embarrassing), to the point where I am about to leave the profession. I dont want to do this as I have worked so hard to get where I am and will be chucking it all away and I now have a family to support. But it seems worth it to get away from this misery it really does! My mind is constantly occupied with this, I can't switch off from worrying about it. I have had numerous CBT sessions but with no real improvements. I have never taken any medication for this but have recently heard good things about Propandol. I feel this is my last hope. Can anyone offer any advice on this at all?
Good to meet you all.

nomorepanic
29-08-11, 16:46
Hi ynwa7778818405

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.