PDA

View Full Version : Hello I'm a medical student with anxiety...! :-)

blondinou
30-08-11, 20:50
Hello everyone.

I thought I would introduce myself because I am a final year medical student suffering with anxiety - particularly health anxiety. Perk of the job haha. I will be a doctor in one year with any luck. I hope I can provide a different perspective, as I have (hopefully!) a little knowledge about both mental and physical illness as well as experience of anxiety myself.

I’ve had anxiety for 3 months now in the current form, but I now recognise I’ve had it on and off for years (ouch that is disappointing to admit). I have a mixture of two things which I call ‘panic attack’ and ‘anxiety’.

‘Panic attack’ for me is a short episode of absolute fear, dread and panic where nearly all rational thought goes OUT the window!!! These are really hard to deal with and I feel like I’m going to die or there will be some disastrous outcome like going permanently insane or ending up in A&E collapsed. There’s not much I can do except ride it out.

‘Anxiety’ for me is a low-level tense, fearful feeling. It goes up and down, and sometimes it feels like I’m on the brink of panic and I will tip over if I let myself. Other times I can talk myself out of it and comfort myself back into the real world. It’s often with this disconnected feeling that I’m not engaging with real life like everyone else is.

I loved the 'The Battle That Rages In My Head' post by SFAOK about Mr Positive and Mr Negative because that it exactly what goes on in my head too, and it really helped me to read it. So I thought I would leave my version of it so others can hopefully identify with it.