PDA

View Full Version : Having a hard time with anxiety

kstro12
08-09-11, 21:23
Hi guys, this is my first post to any forum regarding my anxiety problems but I have been reading for a while. However, I've now reached a point where I think writing down what I'm feeling might help me deal - I'll give it a go and would appreciate any help or guidance.

I'm currently a 19 year old student and I've always known I've had some sort of mild underlying anxiety. However, sine earlier this year I feel like it's escalated beyond my control and I've reached the point where I need help.

It seems to manifests itself in typical ways - I get the trembling, head pains, fast heart, lump in throat and pretty much all of the symptoms you expect. I think the main thing that set it off was when my asthma got worse earlier this summer, I panicked constantly about not being able to breathe and even though that has now been resolved it's like all the anxiety that came with it has stuck around. Most of it I can deal with but the worst thing I'm experiencing at the moment is the strange sensations all through my head, like a tingling, burning, crawling sensation which makes me feel like I'm losing my mind. This is what scares me the most and it's been particulary bad tonight. Also for the first time today I've been expericing head 'shocks' and trouble being able to fall asleep; it's as though just when I'm about to drift off I get shocked into being awake and it terrifies me - this then leads to more panic about me never being able to sleep again.